On my TBR List #1: The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth

The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth has been on my TBR list since it was longlisted to the Man Booker Prize two years ago. This video kindly reminded me of this book.

Since it is set in the 11th century, it is written in Medieval English. Now that will be a challenging experience. I fear it might be something akin to the last story in Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell – set in a distant future when people speak a very different English –, but longer. Let’s hope it is worth it.
I just read in an article that The Wake is going to be turned into a film and Mark Rylance, Claire Van Kampen, and Colin Callender (a producer of the wonderful Wolf Hall) are part of the team. So I’m really looking forward to it!

Here’s the first page of the novel read by Mark Rylance.

One thought on “On my TBR List #1: The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth

  1. Pingback: Beast de Paul Kingsnorth – Anyway

Leave a Reply

