Recap & Movie Review (Pride, 2014)

Walking around the woods.
                                               Walking around the woods.

Hello again!
It’s been some days since my last post. Now that I am on holidays I am more active than ever. There is so much I want to do! I really want to make the most out of this month.

So, for the last days I’ve been in a small village in the region of Empordà with some friends. I’ve been going there since I was born and this was the last time I’d be able to go there until Christmas, if I am lucky. Even if I live in Barcelona, my most cherished childhood memories are rooted there.

I usually spend all August in the country and I get this impression as if time did not exist there. It’s just one long and relaxed day that lasts for one month. This time more than ever I have felt the difference between the countryside and the city. The quiet, the quality of the air, hearing the birds sing in the morning and the crickets all day long…

That does not mean that I was idle for four days. I went around quite a bit, visited the Dalí Museum, and went to the beach twice!

IMG_0115
                                     Paradisiac coastline, I’ll miss you.

I also watched PRIDE (Matthew Warchus, 2014) for the third time. And I’d watch it again today if I could spare a couple of hours.

This movie is set in 1984 in the UK, during the coal miners strike under the Thatcher government. In London, Joe (George McKay) is a twenty-year old who attends his first Pride parade in London. There he meets a group that will become the Lesbians and Gays Support the Miners group and his best friends. Together, they will contact a village in South Wales and start collecting donations for the miners.

pride_ver6_xlgThis film is brilliant, and certainly one of my favourite films of 2014 (if not the favourite). The clash between the miners and the LGBT community is certainly interesting. What was actually surprising was to find so many open-minded miners – and realising how prejudiced I am – although there’s certainly some struggle at first. This is a beautiful film about very different people who are struggling that decide to help each other. It is a movie about tolerance, solidarity, and love. It is also a great portrait of how the society in the early 1980s, for instance, on how HIV and AIDS were perceived.

There are many underlying messages that are worth taking in from this movie. One is, of course, that you need to be true to yourself to be happy, which is what matters most because life is short, and it cannot be spent pretending to be someone else. The other is solidarity. Women’s rights, LGBT rights, workers’ rights, they are complementary, they are all inalienable human rights. You cannot stand for one and not the other. Quoting Dai (Paddy Considine):

“You support me, I support you, whoever you are, wherever you come from, shoulder to shoulder, hand to hand.”

Bottomline, Pride is a beautiful movie which, despite some hilarious scenes, does not treat likely neither the miners’ strike nor the LGBT movement. It is simply a great film to watch (as I said, I’ve so far seen it thrice) and I recommend it to everyone.

Oh, I did not mention the amazing cast: Immelda Stauton, Joe Gilgun, Dominic West, Andrew Scott, and Bill Nighy, among others.

I leave you with one of the songs of the movie, “Shame, Shame, Shame” by Shirley & Co.

Leave a Reply

